Smart University Home > Teachers - Recent Developments in Applied Cryptology
Teachers - Recent Developments in Applied Cryptology
Pr. Bart Preneel
Professor - Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium)
Bart Preneel is full professor at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. He was visiting professor at five universities in Europe and was a research fellow at the University of California at Berkeley. He has authored and co-authored more than 300 reviewed scientific publications and is inventor of three patents. His main research interests are cryptography and information security.

Prof. Preneel is president of the IACR (International Association for Cryptologic Research) and of L-SEC vzw. (Leuven Security Excellence Consortium), an association of 60 companies and research institutions in the area of e-security. He is a member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Cryptology and several other journals. He has participated to more than 25 research projects sponsored by the European Commission, for four of these as project manager. He has been or is program chair of 12 international conferences (including Eurocrypt 2000 and ESORICS 2010) and he has been invited speaker at more than 50 conferences. In 2003, he has received the European Information Security Award in the area of academic research, and he received an honorary Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) designation by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA).  He has been a member of the RISEPTIS Advisory Board (ThinkTrust project) and of the SecureIST Advisory Board.

Pr. Vincent Rijmen
Professor - Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium) and TU Graz (Austria)
Vincent Rijmen holds a PhD in cryptography. He is co-designer of the algorithm Rijndael, which has become the Advanced Encryption Standard (AES). Rijmen is also the co-designer of the WHIRLPOOL cryptographic hash function, which made it into ISO/IEC 10118-3.

Rijmen heads the research unit "Krypto" of the department IAIK of the Graz University of Technology. At the ESAT department of the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, he is with the research division COSIC. Rijmen is also Corporate Chief Cryptographer with Cryptomathic.

Rijmen authored numerous scientific publications in the field of symmetric cryptography. He was Program Chair of RFIDSec 2005, RFIDSec 2006, RFIDSec 2007, Program Co-chair of Fast Software Encryption 2002, Indocrypt 2008, Selected Areas in Cryptography 2009, and member of the program committee of many other international conferences in the field of cryptography.

Ingrid Verbauwhede
Professor - Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium)
Professor Dr. Ir. Ingrid Verbauwhede received the Electrical Engineering degree and Ph.D. degree from the K.U.Leuven in Belgium in 1984 and in 1991 respectively. From 1992 to 1994, she was a post-doctoral researcher and visiting lecturer at the EECS department of UC Berkeley, CA. From 1994 to 1998 she worked for TCSI and ATMEL in Berkeley, CA. In 1998, she joined the faculty of UCLA as an associate professor. She is currently a professor at the K.U.Leuven and an adjunct professor at UCLA. At K.U.Leuven, her research group is part of the COSIC (Computer Security and Industrial Cryptography) lab.

Embedded security is the focus of her research. It includes new technologies, circuits, processor architectures and design methodologies for both efficient and secure implementations of cryptography, and security applications in general.

She was the program chair of the 2007 CHES (Cryptographic Hardware and Embedded Systems) conference, the 2008 ASAP (Application-specific Systems, Architectures and Processors) conference, the 2002 ISLPED symposium (ACM/IEEE International Symposium on Low Power Electronics and Design). She was also the general chair of the 2003 ISLPED symposium. She is a member of the executive committee of CHES. She is a member of the IEEE Design and Implementation of Signal Processing systems technical committee. She is chair of the Secure Embedded Implementations track at the 2010 DATE conference. She was a member of the executive committee of the 42nd and 43th Design Automation Conference (DAC) as the design community chair. She is a senior member of IEEE.